«In 2010 this wonderful space was created in order to welcome the entire community of Colombian and Latin American violists; since then the festival is held every two years at the Conservatory of Music of the National University of Colombia. Here, we offer a variety of classes and workshops on practical and enriching topics, we assembled a national and international panel of distinguished violists and performed in renowned auditoriums of the city.

Our Bogotá Violas Orchestra has grown stronger and stronger and in its latest version (2019), it brought together more than 100 violists, including students, teachers and orchestra professionals from Colombia and Latin America. During these years, we were finding children with a solid interest in this instrument, and that is how we consolidated a space for them by creating the Infant and Youth Program.

The achievements of each edition have been a source of pride and encouragement to continue working and supporting the talent of our violists. That is why, parallel to the festival, we have carried out other activities with international guests supported by other institutions such as the Bogotá Philharmonic Orchestra, the Julio Mario Santo Domingo Mayor Theater, the Luis Ángel Arango Concert Hall and the Bogotá International String Quartets Festival. .

Sandra Arango



VI Version (2021)

* Marc Sabbah (Royal Conservatory of Mons, Belgium) (United States)
*  Jeniffer Stum (Vienna University of Music and Arts) (USA)
*  Hsin-Yung Huang (Juilliard School and Curtis Institute of Music) (Taiwan)
* Misha Amory (Yale College) (USA)
* Julia Dinerstein (Maastricht Conservatory) (The Netherlands)
* Danka Nikolic (Camerata Salzburg) (Serbia)
* CJ Chang (Peabody Conservatory) (Korea)
* Krysztof Chorzelski (Belcea Quartet) (Poland)
* Sara Ferrández (Kronberg Academy) (Spain)
* Zemtsov Quartet (Netherlands)
* Alfonso Noriega (Camerata Bern) (Spain)
* Molly Gebrian (University of Arizona) (USA)
* Michelle LaCourse (Boston University School of Music) (USA)
* Molly Sharp (Virginia Commonwealth University) (USA)
* Marvicpermar Urbina (University of Zulia) (Venezuela)
* Braunwin Sheldrick and Andrés Gómez (Eafit University) (Colombia and the United States)
* Jose Luis Camison (University of Antioquia) (Colombia)
* Renato Bandel (Campos do Jordão) (Brazil)
* David Espinosa (National Autonomous University of Mexico) (Mexico)
* Carlos Boltes (Altitudes Duo and ADAA Trio) (Chile)
* Javiera Campos (PUCV Chamber Orchestra) (Chile)
* Tomás Martín López (Musician and Osteopathic Physician) (Spain)
* Aníbal Dos Santos (National University of Colombia) (Portugal-Venezuela)
* Daniel Ruggiero (Bandoneon) (Argentina)
* Miguel Ángel Casas (Pedagogical University) (Colombia)
* Diana Bedoya (Archetti String Quartet) (Colombia)
* Julián Enciso (Student of Haute école de musique Genève – Neuchâtel) Colombia)
* Raúl García(Colombian Symphony Orchestra) (Colombia)
* Carlos Parra (Bogota Chamber Orchestra) (Colombia)
* Nicolás Mendoza (Student at the University of Music and Arts of the city of Vienna) (Colombia)
* Andrea Torres (Tolima Conservatory) (Colombia)
* Mauricio Arias-Esguerra (University of the Andes) (Piano) (Colombia)

V Version (2019)
* Scott Lee (University of Missouri-Kansas) (United States)
* Matthias Buchholz (Hochschule Für Musik und Tanz Köln) (Germany)
* Mikhail Zemtsov (Royal Conservatoire in the Hague) (Netherlands)
* Isabel Villanueva (High Performance Music High School Valencia) (Spain)
* Raúl García (First viola Colombian Symphony Orchestra) (Colombia)
* Sharon Avella (Colombia)
* Aníbal Dos Santos (First Viola Philharmonic Orchestra of Bogotá) (Venezuela)

V Version (2017)
* Stephen Wyrczynski (Indiana University Bloomington) (United States)
* Raúl García (First viola Symphony Orchestra of Colombia) (Colombia)
* Esteban Hernández (Colombia)
* Andrea Carolina del Pilar Sánchez (Sergio Arboleda University) (Colombia)
* Aníbal Dos Santos (First Viola Philharmonic Orchestra of Bogotá) (Venezuela)

III Version (2015)
* Julia Bullard (University of Northern Iowa) (United States)
* Richard Young (Vermeer string quartet) (United States)
* Amy Muchnich (Missouri university) (United States)
* Braunwin Sheldrich (Eafit University) (Canada)
* Aníbal Dos Santos (First Viola Philharmonic Orchestra of Bogotá) (Venezuela)

II Version (2013)
* Paul Cortese (Conservatorio Superior del Liceo in Barcelona) (United States)
* Aníbal Dos Santos (First Viola Philharmonic Orchestra of Bogotá) (Venezuela)

I Version (2010)
* Sandra Arango (National University of Colombia) (Colombia)
* Aníbal Dos Santos (First Viola Philharmonic Orchestra of Bogotá) (Venezuela)
* Sergio Trujillo (Central University) (Colombia)

Other guests thanks to other partner institutions:
* Hsin-Yung (Juilliard School and Curtis Institute of Music) (Taiwan)
* Maxim Novikov (Viola only) (Moscow)
* Ruth Killius (Zehetmair Quartet) (Germany)
* Anthony Devroye (School of Music at Northern Illinois University) (United States)
* Julia Dinerstein (Conservatorium Maastrich) (Netherlands)
* Dana Zemtsov (Zemtsov Viola Quartet) (Netherlands)
* Javier Montiel (Latin American Quartet) (Mexico)
* Felisa Hernández Salmeron (National Autonomous University of Mexico) (Mexico)

Guest Directors
* Miguel Casas (2019)
* Ricardo Hernández, artistic director (2010 to 2019)
* Mikhail Zemtsov (2019)
* Nelson Jiménez (2019)
* Leonardo Valencia (2017)
* Julián Linares (2010)

Invited concert performers
* Julián Enciso (2021)
* Sharon Avella (2015, 2019)
* Andrea Carolina del Pilar Sánchez (2017)
* Sandra Arango (2013)
* David Merchán (2010)

Allied Workshop
* Julian Linares
* David Merchán
* Sharon Avella
* Andrea carolina del Pilar Sánchez
* Esteban Hernández
* Luz Andreina Cadena
* Johanna Pino
* Adriana Quintero

* Mauricio Arias ((2019-2021))
* Raúl Mesa (2010-2017)

* Diana Melo, Percussion Philharmonic Orchestra of Bogotá
* Cristian Calderón, Contrabassist, Youth Philharmonic Orchestra of Bogotá
* Philharmonic Orchestra of Bogotá
* Bogota Philharmonic Orchestra
* Bogotá International Festival of Sacred Music
* University of the Andes
* Fabio Lozano Auditorium
* Bogotá Symphony Orchestra Foundation
* Lmusicconnections.

* Lutheria, Salvi Foundation
* Lutheria, Olitarte
* Mass Music
* Maykel Barroso

Technical team
* Ariadna Marcela silva, graphic design and photography (2010 to 2021)
* Jefferson Rosas, Sound Engineer (2019-2021)
* 19361 PRODUCTIONS (2010)
* Kike Barona (2019-2021)
* The Dome Productions (2021)

* José Ignacio Camacho, composer and arranger]
* Ricardo Hernández, composer and arranger
* Sandra Arango, arranger
* Natalia Suárez, copyist

* National University of Colombia (2015, 2017, 2019)
* Pontificia Universidad Javeriana (2010 and 2019)
* Bolívar Davivienda Foundation: Young Philharmonic of Colombia (2019)

* Mayor Julio Mario Santo Domingo Theater (2021)
* National University of Colombia (2013-2019)
* León de Greiff Auditorium (2019)
* Fabio Lozano Auditorium (2013-2019)
* Philharmonic Workshop Theater (2019)
* Pontificia Universidad Javeriana (2010)
* Otto de Greiff concert hall (2010)



* Ricardo Hernández, viola, Bogotá Philharmonic Orchestra
* Aníbal Dos Santos, viola solo Philharmonic Orchestra of Bogotá
* Julián Linares, professor at the Universidad de los Andes
* Raúl García, viola solo Orquesta Sinfónica de Colombia
* Andrea Carolina Sánchez, professor at the Sergio Arboleda University
* David Merchán, viola solo Philharmonic Orchestra of Medellín
* Andrea Torres, teacher Conservatory of Tolima
* Johanna Pino, professor at Universidad de los Andes

* National university of Colombia
* Julio Mario Santo Domingo Mayor Theater
* Bolívar Davivienda Foundation: Young Philharmonic of Colombia
* Philharmonic Orchestra of Bogotá
* Lmusiconnections.



Founder and Managing Director


Business Manager – Cultural Manager


Community Manager


 Institutional Communications Manager